National Standards

There are two forms of minerals, organic and inorganic. Inorganic minerals refers to non-vegetable or non-animal matter, i.e. not living. This included carbonate and lime compounds, calcium, iron and magnesium. Because these components are non-living, our bodies can not make use of these minerals and our cells reject them. The result of ingesting these minerals is an accumulation of debris in our bodies. Organic minerals on the other hand are living, and are found in vegetables, fruit, seeds, grains, meats, and nuts which form our daily diet. These are easily assimilated by our cells and are essential for good health. If you rely on water as a source of your required minerals,you are sadly lacking. The minerals in water are inorganic, and the body cannot make use of them. The body continually assimilates the much needed minerals from the food we eat not from water.

So most minerals found in our water tend to take the form of contaminants in terms of our bodily processes. Knowing what can be in your water and what it can cause is very important in making healthy decisions about water quality. There are national standards for water quality that we should all be aware of.

How does your water stack up to the national standards? Take a look at the health related contaminants charts to get a perspective on your water.

Contaminent Charts

National Secondary Drinking Water Standards and Other Aesthetic Contaminants
Primary (Health Related) Organic Contaminants
Primary (Health Related) Inorganic Contaminants

Back to Top

"Serving the Northumberland Area and Beyond Since 1991"

(905) 377-9981     1 (800) 363-8610